Thursday, November 13, 2008

The Constitution - Republic II

Original post by

Article 1 of the Constitution states the ROC shall have a Republican System, it states:

The Republic of China, founded on the Three Principles of the People, shall be a democratic republic of the people, to be governed by the people and for the people.

中華民國 [Zhōnghuámínguó] /Republic of China/
基於 [jīyú] /because of/on the basis of/in view of/on account of/
三民主義 [sānmínzhǔyì] /Three Principles of the People/
為 [wéi] /是/is/
民有 [mínyǒu] /of the people/
民治 [mínzhì] /to govern by the people/
民享 [mínxiǎng] /for the people/
之 [zhī] /(literary equivalent of 的)/
民主 [mínzhǔ] /democracy/
共和國 [gònghéguó] /republic/

Dr. Sun advocated the “Three Principles of the People”( 三民主義):

民有 “of the people” (Nationalism) 國家為全體人民所共有,即國家主權在於人民。
民治 “to govern by the people” (Democracy) 國家政治由全體人民共同治理。
民享 “for the people” (Social Welfare) 社會利益由全體人民共享。