Tuesday, November 4, 2008

The Legislative Yuan II

Original post by www.taiwanlawresources.com.

Article 62 of the Constitution states:
The Legislative Yuan shall be the highest legislative organ of the State, to be constituted of members elected by the people. It shall exercise legislative power on behalf of the people.


立法院 [Lìfǎyuàn] /Legislative Yuan/
為 [wéi] /是/is/
國家 [guójiā] /country/nation/
最高 [zuìgāo] /highest/highest-level/
立法機關 [Lìfǎ jīguān] /legislative body/
由 [yóu] /by/to/
人民 [rénmín] /(the) people/
選舉 [xuǎnjǔ] /to elect/
之 [zhī] /(subor. part.)/him/her/it/
立法委員 [Lìfǎ wěiyuán] /Legislative member/
組織 [zǔzhī] /organization/
代表 [dàibiǎo] /representative/delegate/to represent/to stand for/
行使 [xíngshǐ] /exercise/exert/exertion/
立法權 [lìfǎquán] /legislative authority/legislative power/legislative right/

The number of Legislative seats in the Legislative Yuan is 113
73 members shall be elected from the special municipalities, counties and cities with at least one member from each county or city
3 members each shall be elected from and by the lowland and highland
34 members shall be elected from among
nationwide constituency and overseas Chinese citizens.

The legislator shall hold office for four years.
Female legislators shall account for no less than one half of the elected members of each party.

The Legislative Yuan website can be found here.
A list of Legislatures can be found
An explanation of the Administrative Structure can be found
An explanation of the Functions and Powers can be found
An explanation of the Legislative Procedure can be found
Links to Domestic Council websites can be found on my website